Aditya Tare leads from the front for DY Patil T20 Cup honours

Siddhesh Lad starred with the ball by picking up three wickets, including that of Hardik Pandya.

Aditya Tare steered his Indian Oil team to the DY Patil T20 Cup title by leading from the front in the final against Reliance 1 to lay the foundation of a 12-run win on Friday at the DY Patil Stadium.

Put in to bat first, Indian Oil kept the run rate up despite losing wickets at regular intervals thanks to opener Suved Parkar who put on a 55-run partnership with Siddhesh Lad for the second wicket in just 28 balls. The duo's early assault involved hammering Hardik Pandya for 23 runs in his second over.

Aditya Tare, who captained Eagle Thane Strikers in the second season of T20 Mumbai, came to the crease early in the seventh over at number 4.

By the 12th over, Indian Oil were 104/4 having lost two wickets in the space of four deliveries, that included Suved Parkar, who scored 63 (40b, 5x4, 2x6). But that didn't let the batting side slow down too much as skipper Aditya Tare joined hands with Pinal Shah to forge a 58-run stand for the fifth wicket that was broken only in the final over of the innings.

Aditya Tare ended up unbeaten on 79 in just 43 balls at a strike rate of 183.72 and during the course of his innings, he hit 6 fours and 4 sixes.

He paced his innings, scoring his first 28 runs in his just 25 balls with a single hit to the fence. His next 51 runs, though, came in just 18 balls with the last eight deliveries he faced producing 28 runs with the help of a maximum and 5 boundaries.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar bore the brunt of that late blitz as the penultimate over went for 21 runs, 19 of which came from Aditya Tare's blade.

Indian Oil posted 200/5 as a result.

For Reliance 1, Shikhar Dhawan starred with 73, his innings curtailed by a run out effected by Suved Parkar.

But it was Siddhesh Lad who broke the back of the opposition as his three wickets reduced Reliance 1 from 81/1 to 130/4. That included back-to-back scalps in the ninth over when he sent back the settled Saurabh Tiwary and the in-form Hardik Pandya, the latter for a first-ball duck.

Siddhesh Lad was the standout bowler of the day with figures of 3/28 in four overs as Reliance 1 managed 188/7 at the end of their innings.

Top players in DY Patil T20 Cup

While Aditya Tare bagged the title, it was Suryakumar Yadav who took the honours of being the leading run-scorer in the tournament. His 441 runs, that included a century each against Central Railway and DY Patil B, was 94 more than what next-best Hardik Pandya managed in as many matches.

Aakarshit Gomel was the third in the lead run-scorers in the DY Patil T20 Cup.

Hardik Pandya was the leading wicket-taker with 14 scalps while T20 Mumbai alumni Sylvester Dsouza and Vaibhav Mali picked up 8 each, eighth and ninth in the list, the latter at an average of just 8.12, the best in the DY Patil T20 Cup.

Your Comments