Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer stand tall for Mumbai in consolation win

Mumbai registered a 22-run victory in a run-fest against Punjab but were knocked out of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

Photo: BCCI/Twitter

Known for its diamond industry, Suryakumar Yadav and Shreyas Iyer felt right at home in Surat. The two gems of Mumbai cricket produced glittering shots to help their side to a massive total against Punjab in their final Super League fixture of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy at the Lalbhai Contractor Stadium to set up a win on Wednesday.

Mumbai's white-ball purists mapped out a boundary festival against Punjab with the duo putting on 140 runs for the third wicket in just 63 balls, scoring a little more than 13 per over that translated into a phenomenal strike rate of 222.22.

Put in to bat first, Mumbai's intent came bare soon after a subdued first over as 61 were smashed in the next four with Prithvi Shaw and Aditya Tare stepping up the gears. Baltej Singh went for 18 in the third over as Prithvi Shaw produced a boundary and two sixes. Another 17 came in the fifth with the pair bringing up their fifty-run stand in just 26 balls courtesy of a Prithvi Shaw-maximum.

From 71 for no loss, Mumbai were soon 83/2 in the ninth over but that had brought captain Suryakumar Yadav and Shreyas Iyer to the crease. Suryakumar Yadav, skipper of Triumph Knights Mumbai North East in T20 Mumbai, got off the mark with a boundary off the first ball he faced and a six off just his third, announcing his intention as Mumbai ensured they scored at least 10 an over from thereon.

A total of 108 runs came in the last seven overs, highlighted by Shreyas Iyer's two sixes off a Mandeep Singh over and 18 runs Karan Kaila's final over, which saw Suryakumar Yadav bringing up his fifty in 23 balls and Shreyas Iyer, a NaMo Bandra Blasters star in T20 Mumbai, his first half-century of the tournament in 28 deliveries.

Suryakumar Yadav plonked and pasted until he mistimed one on the last ball of the penultimate over and left after a 35-ball 80 with 8 fours and 5 sixes at a strike rate of 228.57. Shreyas Iyer, meanwhile, plundered 20 in the final over off Baltej Singh to raise a daunting 243/3 and ended up unbeaten on 80 (40b, 7x4s, 4x6s) with a strike rate of 200.00.

Punjab came out for the chase with similar ambitions as the first seven overs produced 74 runs before Shubham Ranjane provided the breakthrough. The opposition, however, continued their assault and at one stage needed 90 off 39 balls with nine wickets in hand before Shubham Ranjane struck again.

But it was Shardul Thakur who reigned Punjab back after he dismissed Shubman Gill for 78 in the 16th over. That upped the pressure as Tushar Deshpande grabbed a brace of wickets next and Shardul Thakur returned to get rid Harpreet Brar, as four wickets fell in three overs and effectively ending the game.

With 47 needed in the final two overs, Punjab could manage only 221/6 at the end, handing Mumbai a 22-run win. Shardul Thakur grabbed 2/41, Tushar Deshpande 2/35 and Shubham Ranjane 2/40 in their quota of four overs each.

Mumbai, however, were knocked out of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy as they needed to restrict Punjab to 150 to qualify for the semi-finals.

Suryakumar Yadav ended up with the most runs scored for Mumbai with 392, his four fifties in 11 matches contributing towards his tally that came at an average of 56.00 and a strike rate of 168.96. Shams Mulani was the leading wicket-taker for the team with 11 scalps in as many games at 22.36 apiece and an economy of 6.64.

Your Comments