The Elite XI: T20 Mumbai’s Team of the Season

In the 23 matches played this season, these XI stood out the most.

Season 2 of T20 Mumbai saw a host of the city’s finest cricketers showcase their class and a bunch of new faces take the city by storm with their outstanding performances over the course of the past two weeks in Mumbai premier T20 competition. While there were a multitude of great performers over the 23 matches, the following players stood out in their respective roles and have, thus, earned a spot in this year’s Team of the Season.

Here is the full squad:

Prithvi Shaw (C)

North Mumbai Panthers’ skipper Prithvi Shaw was sensational in Season 2 with the bat and led his side to their maiden T20 Mumbai title. The youngster finished the campaign as the league’s top run-scorer with 249 at a mammoth strike rate of 149.10 and an impressive average of 49.80. Shaw was particularly impressive in the knockout phase, where he scored 76 and 61 and finished as his team’s top scorer in the semis as well as the final.

Akhil Herwadkar

ARCS Andheri opener Akhil Herwardkar enjoyed a brilliant campaign and finished Season 2 as the league’s fourth-highest run-scorer with 231 to his name. Barring a couple of outings, Herwadwar was prolific for his team and finished as the ARCS’ top-scorer in three of their six matches in Season 2. Herwadkar was also one of only three players to score three half-centuries this season, of which two came in victories for his team.

Aditya Tare (WK)

In his debut campaign in T20 Mumbai, veteran Aditya Tare was arguably the most consistent batsman in the league, finishing the season with 244 runs, just five shy of Shaw’s league-leading mark of 249. Tare was outstanding in his team’s first match his season, playing a magnificent 71 runs in his team’s narrow loss to the Panthers. Tare scored three half centuries in five appearances this season which included 31 boundaries, the most by any batsman in Season 2.

Suryakumar Yadav

Triumph Knights Mumbai North East skipper Suryakumar Yadav was yet again one of the top performers of the league, finishing the season with 202 runs which included his outstanding knock of 90* against the Aakash Tigers Mumbai Western Suburbs. Surya’s average of 67.33 was the highest among all players with over 200 runs and his tally of nine sixes was bettered by only two other batsmen this season.

Shubham Ranjane

ARCS Andheri ace Shubham Ranjane was as reliable as they come in the middle order and scored 197 runs this season, including a couple of 50s. One of those came in a thriller against the North Mumbai Panthers, where Ranjane batted the ARCS out of trouble to a victory with an unbeaten 71 off 42 balls. Ranjane finished as the ARCS’ second-highest run-scorer in Season 2 but had the best average and strike rate among all players with over 75 runs from his team.

Parag Khanapurkar

Parag Khanapurkar’s contributions with the bat and ball were one of the key reasons for the SoBo SuperSonics going all the way to final this season, where he, yet again, played valiantly as his team fell short in their quest for victory. Khanapurkar was the fifth-highest run-scorer this season with 229 and also bowled extremely well, picking up seven scalps while boasting of an outstanding economy rate of 6.36. Khanapurkar’s knock of 96 against the ARCS Andheri was the second-highest individual score this season and the third highest in T20 Mumbai history behind Jay Bista’s 110 this season and Sujit Nayak’s 99* in Season 1.

Sujit Nayak

Another all-rounder who enjoyed a stellar campaign was NaMo Bandra Blasters’ Sujit Nayak, who finished the campaign as his team’s leading run-scorer and the second-highest wicket-taker. Nayak, batting lower down the order this season, began in grand style smashing 50 in just 20 balls, which included five sixes and also picked up a couple of scalps with the ball in what was a brilliant all-round performance from the southpaw. Sujit finished the season with six wickets at a solid economy of 6.91 and 167 runs at a strike rate of 150.45, repaying the faith that the Blasters had in the 29-year-old’s abilities.

Atif Attarwala

His Man of the Match performance in the final against SoBo SuperSonics capped off a brilliant season in perfect fashion for left-arm pacer Atif Attarwala. The speedster was the second-highest wicket taker in Season 2, finishing with 12 scalps and led the league in 3-fers hauls with three. While, Attarwala was a consistent threat with the ball, he also proved to be handy with the bat, smashing the all-important six in the final over of the semi-final against ARCS Andheri that levelled the scores.

Dhrumil Matkar

T20 Mumbai Season 2 saw a number of left-arm spinner leave their mark on the league, but none more so than SoBo SuperSonics’ Dhrumil Matkar. The 22-year old was the league’s leading wicket-taker this season with 15 at a devilish economy of 6.66. Matkar picked up the season’s only five-fer, which came in his team’s high-scoring semi-final victory over the Aakash Tigers. Matkar also accounted for a couple of three-fers this season and for his performance, he was bestowed with the best bowler award for this season.

Deepak Shetty

With 10 wickets to his name, SoBo SuperSonics’ Deepak Shetty finished Season 2 as his team’s leading wicket taker and was awarded the best developmental player of the season for his efforts. The pacer bowled some fiery spells this season with the best coming in the final against North Mumbai Panthers, where he dominated with the ball and posted impressive figures of 3-24 in his quota of four overs.

Royston Dias

Season 2 saw Triumph Knights Mumbai North East pacer Royston Dias pick up 10 scalps and emerge as one of the city’s most promising bowling talents. Barring the Knights’ first game, Dias managed to pick up at least one wicket in each of his subsequent four appearances and his season-best of 4-26 came against his former team Shivaji Park Lions in his team’s dominating victory. That spell is also the best bowling performance of Dias’ T20 career.

Your Comments