The big winners from T20 Mumbai Season 2

These players clinched individual accolades for their outstanding performances in Season 2.

Upon the conclusion of the T20 Mumbai Season 2 final, where the North Mumbai Panthers triumphed over the SoBo SuperSonics by 12 runs, a host of award were handed to league’s best performers from the season gone by.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Most Valuable Player - Prithvi Shaw

North Mumbai Panthers skipper Prithvi Shaw led his team by example throughout the campaign and was yet again sensational on the night of the final with his gritty knock of 61 that helped his team post, what turned out to be, a match-winning total of 143-7.

The youngster was brilliant in the semi-final as well and was awarded the man of the match for his knock of 71 off 48 balls in their team’s thrilling last-ball win over the ARCS Andheri. Shaw finished Season 2 as the league’s top run-getter with 249 runs and for his efforts throughout the campaign and for leading the North Mumbai Panthers to their maiden T20 Mumbai crown, the youngster was awarded the Man of the Series award.

Best Batsman – Aditya Tare

Making his debut with new team Eagle Thane Strikers this season, veteran batsman Aditya Tare finished Season 2 with 244 runs, five behind Shaw’s league best mark of 249 having played a game fewer and was awarded the Best Batsman award for his efforts in Season 2.

He kicked off his campaign in style, scoring 71 in his team’s narrow loss against the North Mumbai Panthers and followed that up a knock 57 of runs in 45 balls in his team’s victory over the Aakash Tigers Mumbai Western Suburbs. After scoring 48 against the ARCS Andheri in the Strikers’ penultimate game of the season, Tare capped off the season in style with his third 50 of the tournament in his team’s epic chase against the NaMo Bandra Blasters.

Best Bowler - Dhrumil Matkar

The tournament’s leading wicket-taker with 15 scalps, Matkar was adjudged the best bowler of the tournament for his inspired spells of the bowling throughout the competition.

Apart from emerging as leading wicket-taker, Matkar also recorded the best bowling figures of the tournament, when he nabbed 5/32 in the semi-final against the Aakash Tigers MWS. He also maintained a staggering economy rate of 6.66 and averaged a wicket every 11 deliveries.

Best Emerging Player - Kruthik Hanagavadi

Eagles Thane Strikers’ leading wicket-taker Hanagavadi was titled the best development player of the tournament for his solid seam bowling performances.

Heading into the tournament, he was a relatively unknown commodity and leaves the competition as a shining city for Mumbai cricket’s future. Hanagavadi’s finest hour in the league came against the Aakash Tigers when he picked 2/17 to help his team register one of their two wins of the campaign.

Best Development Player - Deepak Shetty

Although the tournament was dominated by several strong performances from spinners, SoBo SuperSonics pacer Deepak Shetty carved a niche for himself with his fabulous quick bowling.

He almost always guaranteed the team a wicket in the powerplay overs; and managed 10 scalps throughout the tournament to nab the title of best development player. The pacer picked 3/24 in the final against the North Mumbai Panthers and almost got his team the trophy but for a resolute fifty from the man-of-the-series Prithvi Shaw.

Your Comments